How To Treat A Sprained Ankle

Nine days ago I sprained my ankle by slipping off a pavement at night in the rain. I landed in the road on my ankle and tore three ligaments. The result: a very blue, swollen foot.

10913_10152573669886154_795184790854763714_n

For two days I did the whole RICE thing:

R: Rest

I: Ice

C: Compress

E: Elevate

On day three, when the swelling hadn’t gone down, I decided to see a doctor. And that’s when my personal trainer called me with the best advice I’ve ever received:

“Don’t waste your time going to a doctor. They will send you for X-rays and urge you to see a physio. Skip the middle man and go straight to the physio”

And that’s what I did. The physio suggested that I go for X-rays, which I did that very day. No breaks or fractures – yay! I have begun my treatment with the physio and she has communicated with my personal trainer who will begin my rehabilitation once the bruising has gone.

Having a personal trainer has been amazing. I am his “merchandise” so he makes sure my injuries are looked after carefully so that I don’t injure myself again. What a treat!

 

3 thoughts on “How To Treat A Sprained Ankle

    • I didn’t cry actually, but it was extremely painful. I think I was just in a lot of shock and I wasn’t quite sure what to do with myself. I feel terrible for your mom! I hope she recovers quickly 🙂

      • Uhg I bet. I can’t imagine, I’ve never sprained anything before but it’s my biggest fear as a runner. Thank you! It was her first sprain she did the same thing as you, we went out to check the mailbox late at night and her foot missed the curb, her ankle rolled and popped. It was frightening she cried from the pain. My brother had to carry her to the house. I hope I never sprain mine. haha looks painful.

        Anyways I hope you heal quickly as well. Have a great day!!

Leave a Reply

